Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn Eves

Blood Rose Rebellion Cover depicts four roses in silver and red.

The thrilling first book in a YA fantasy trilogy for fans of Red Queen. In a world where social prestige derives from a trifecta of blood, money, and magic, one girl has the ability to break the spell that holds the social order in place.

A story about a girl who discovers that being not enough is enough for more than enough, and most importantly, herself. Historical fantasy at its best. In the end, it was a book about fighting for what is right, with thought. I knew what I wanted to happen, but seeing Anna going through the process was both exhilarating and maddening. I’m glad she made the choice she made because at the end of the day, rebellions are built on hope.

Ok, now that I got that rogue one out of me (lol), I must say I enjoyed this novel. It was very true to what I expect of historical fantasy, blending the lines between the real and the fantasy. Rosalyn Eves did a great of job of representing what was and what wasn’t in a way that leaves no doubt that it all was.

I particularly like that it is also a coming of age novel. It reinforces the idea that we can not only decided who we want to be, but that we can fight for that even in the midst of oppression, whether we fail or win, we should try.

Anna’s trials are no doubt still to continue, and I for one, cannot wait to see what happens. Sure, we know what happened in Hungary, but what will happen in London, and what choices will Anna make, will she embrace her new found knowledge of what she is or seek to find a space for herself in a world that might not be quite as changed as she believes it is? What about Catherine and James? And what about everything that once was and that is again? How will the ancients fare in this new world?

Amazon link

Goodreads

Leave a comment