The Prince: The Young Royals 1 by S.A Gordon (Review)

Hi Y’all. It’s been a little while. I recently requested “The Prince: The Young Royals 1” from Net galley in order to review it. I was duly approved for a free copy in order to facilitate the process. I must say that I enjoyed the book. I really liked it. It was like getting an insight into some of the things Kate Middleton faced while dating Prince Williams.

The most interesting part for me was the dynamic of the relationship between Prince David (the second born son and spare) and Caitlin. For all intents and proposes, they have an unequal relationship. Except that Caitlin is American (You know what that means, no monarchy). One of the real live royals the author was inspired by was the Swedish Royals. For all those who aren’t aware, like me before I read the book, Sweden has a crown princess. In this book, the United Kingdom has a crown princess. That is, the future monarch would be the first-born child, who just happens to be female. S. A Gordon went into a little bit of what Alix (Alexandra, The crown princess) was going through. I am uncertain if any of this matches reality, it seemed to. And that ladies and gentlemen, was one of the things I liked about the book, the pseudo-realistic aspect.

I would have liked to see more angst from Caitlin. She had some issues, and being in the limelight should have further emphasized those issues. Unfortunately, we only saw a little bit of angst. I would have loved to see the paparazzi tear her up [a bit wicked of me, but that’s all part of the fun of books (not reality, books)] and then see her rise above it all, but alas. There just wasn’t enough of that. She is too damn sweet and understanding. I would have loved to see her and David fight a lot more than they did but I understand why they didn’t. Caitlin just wasn’t secure enough to do that (clears throat: unequal relationshipppppp).

Overall, it was a lovely read. I’m excited for Alix’s story but I suppose Rita (Magarita, the spare spare, the other princess) might have to go first in something in her life. Born last, didn’t get to know her mother well, and her father was always the king… A girl needs something… Sign me up for Rita and Alix’s story (see, I put Magarita first). Maybe this is all she deserves for now (After all, she has a [secret] boyfriend, more than Alix has, now). Give me Ailx’s story first! Please?

Leave a Reply

