Correspondence Poem – To Andrew Marvell from His Coy Mistress

To Andrew Marvell from His Coy Mistress

 

Mistress though I may be titled,

Mistress I am not

While my youthful hue sits on my skin

My long preserved virginity will be my gift.

Your sweet words will not hinder nor sway me

Of all my charming suitors, my choice was but you

So let time’s winged warrior hurry near,

Yonder all before us lie

Deserts of vast eternity.

 

Think me foolish but I must be foolish

If I must know that where beauty shall no longer be found,

Your sweetness shall yet remain.

If you could wait until my last embrace

My soul will think you even sweeter

Alas, a fickle man you are, so I must say,

Wait till the lord blesses our embrace.

 

 

 

Works Cited: To his Coy Mistress by Andrew Marvell

Leave a Reply

