Movies into Books? What’s a girl to say?

I am extremely passionate about literary works and I believe that stories are a pleasure and priviledge you have to earn by reading the work not watching a Hollywood rendition. The blockbuster movies Hollywood has produced recently, in the past five years or so have been converted from books to movies. Screen plays are understandably created as writing to be presented in a visual form. Screen play. Books. Different. Nowadays, most authors dream of Hollywood optioning their books and turning them into movies. A dream that I don’t support. If you want to write a book, write a book, if you want to write a screen play, please do so. Now, I am not completely averse to the movie/book scenario. I would rather a movie screenplay be made into a book after the movie has been seen. Double standards? Maybe so.

Sidney Sheldon is one of my most favorite writers of all time. Did you know he used to be a TV writer? (Woah! I just discovered that one of my most favorite books of his If Tomorrow Comes was made a mini series in 1986! *–*Give me a moment to stew over this betrayal) Ok. so he wrote for The Patty Duke show (Loooove this show) and I dream of Genie (Loooove this show) as well as several other shows. Never getting over this.

.Regroup.

Movies have been made into books since the beginning of film, The Christmas Carol, Frankenstein, Nosferatu, you name it. They can be excused. You know why? It could be argued that the screen was still magical then, almost magical enough that people wanted to see their books made into moving pictures. I mean, imagine! Moving Pictures! They are moving. Now, people have no excuse. The movie technology has not been completely mastered but we all know Hollywood can pretty make whatever’s on paper real enough. So, why can’t hollywood write their own stuff and fiction writers and such stick to their own stuff. Very illogical but I can’t help myself. I don’t want to see my precious books made into movies.

Imagination means that you can fly as high as the moon and fall in love with an Angel. Movies have imagination also but the aspect of turning a lovable book into screen play is tenuous. Writing for both scenarios are different processes. There are many things that books do that movies can never recreate. At least not now. Maybe never.

List of Modern books that have made it onto TV and Films

(But a tiny drop in the bucket!)

  1. Twilight Saga (used to be series before Hollywood) by Stephanie Meyer
  2. The Host by Stephanie Meyer (It’s still only on book 1)
  3. Hunger Games Series by Suzanne Collins
  4. Divergent (gahhhhhh) by Veronica Roth
  5. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead
  6. Matched Series by Allie Condie
  7. Beautiful Creatures Series by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl
  8. Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher
  9. Ramona and Beezus Series by Beverly Cleary
  10. Harry Potter Series by J.K Rowling
  11. The Great Gatsby by Scott Fitzgerald
  12. The Help by Kathryn Stockett
  13. The Time traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger
  14. Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen
  15. Something Borrowed by Emily Giffin
  16. Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen
  17. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

Harry Potter Series by J.K Rowling

One of the reasons for the success of Harry Potter is because it made a movie for all seven (Hollywood made it eight) books. That’s amazing for people because they got to see all the details that were in the book. Hollywood made it eight movies for seven books for the money as well as the magnification of the final battle of Harry and Voldemort. It worked well for everyone, I never even saw part 6, 7 & 8 of the movie, but I can say that it worked because of the reaction of people around me. How can you ever capture the entire storyline in a book that is not yet finished? The Host 2 (The Seeker) is not even out yet but Book 1 (The Host) is already out in movie form. Beautiful Cratures by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl has a four part book. It’s like they (Hollywood) are trying to grab all the money in the world. It seems like making books into movies is a trend that has gained popularity but like many other trends, it will end and begin once again. This practice has been going on since about 1910. Vintage trends always circle back. Case in point, the sport jacket for women (lol).

Then

It has become all about the money. Annoys me to no end! I haven’t seen part 3, 4 (& 5?) of the Twilight Saga nor have I seen any of the Hunger Games. I will not be seeing Divergent, Vampire Academy, you name it. Never saw Cloud Atlas.

(Does anyone know if Winter’s Tale has a book? Will love to read that!) (Update, it has a book. The Book is brilliant!)

Definitely

These are my random and stagnant but barely changing views on turning movies into to books. Hollywood rocks & Sucks! I will never ever see any of my favorite books in their movie forms.I have a lot more to say, this isn’t finished yet but I have to go. But I swear if, Hollywood makes one more of my favorite books into a movie, s**t is gonna hit the fan!

Leave a Reply

